Meet the …. Hansens!

“Meet the ….” is an occasional feature where we pull back the curtain on Oak Hillians so we can get to know them a little bit better.  Today, we meet Ted & Ashley Hansen.  You’ve probably seen them around.  Ted is our Choir Director;  Ashley is the Director of our Dance Ministry and also volunteers in the church office as Manuel’s admin.  Read the article to learn more about them and their story.  And, the next time you see them, introduce yourself.

ashley-ted

Ashley Hansen

How did you hear about Oak Hills?  My husband Ted and I were looking to visit another church and I went through several search engines and found myself on http://oakhills.org/. I couldn’t retrace my steps even if I tried. I feel like God was leading my clicks.

How long have you been attending Oak Hills?  I will hit two years in July 2013.

What was your first experience at Oak Hills like?  My first experience was so wonderful. Everyone was so friendly, the music was amazing and I really enjoyed the sermon (Pastor Kent was preaching). It was a breath of fresh air and such a joy to be a part of. That service helped me realize what I was missing in both worship and teaching. I thought that the church was so great and a place that I could see myself really falling in love with. (big surprise… I totally have)

When/how did you make your decision for Christ? I grew up in a Christian home. Both of my Grandfathers were pastors. I was homeschooled, and the curriculum I was working in was Christian based.  During one of my lessons I came across the question in my book, Have you every accepted Christ as your savior? I couldn’t answer the question. I started crying and told my mom that I didn’t know the answer to that question. She asked me what I wanted to do. I asked her to call my grandmother and right there on the phone, my grandmother helped me pray the prayer to accept Christ. I do not know the exact date but I know that I was 6 or 7. I was baptized Easter Sunday the following year by my Grandfather. I later rededicated my life to Christ at age 16 with the help of a Christian youth choir that I was involved in. It has been an wonderful journey and one that has been the ride of my life.

Where were you born and raised?  I was born in Reno, NV and lived in a little town called Washoe Valley. I moved to Rio Linda with my family in November 1995. I lived in the same house until 2008 when I married Ted.

Family Info: My Father, Craig; mother Julie, older sister Becky who is married and has two amazing kids, and a younger brother, James.

My hubby is Ted (I like to call him Teodore). We do not have any human children but three fur children — our kitties Ellie (big fat Calico), Simba (my love bug orange tabby) and Cordy (We call her Tordy because she likes to get into trouble. She’s a grey tabby.).

Fur BabiesWhat are you currently reading right now? I am currently reading the bible in a year. (New Year’s Resolution). I am also reading a book by Steven James called Opening Moves. I am a big Ted Dekker fan and will read any of his books I can get my hands on. Hubby Ted got me into Ted Dekker.

If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be?  Cabo Azul Resort in San Jose Del Cabo, Mexico with Ted. My favorite place to vacation. Maybe even England or France… I have never been there and would love to visit.

Tell us something people would be surprised to know about you? Hmmm…I love to do handstands on things (some people know this), I was homeschooled my entire school life,   I was born with a cleft lip and had two surgeries to repair it, my favorite PJ pants are men’s NINJA TURTLE fuzzy pants!!!!, I get REALLY silly when I am tired and can laugh at almost anything. I love to run. I have this silly child likes voice that only Ted hears…my silly voice.

What is the thing you are most proud of?  I am most proud of my husband Ted. He is so strong and supportive of me, and he works so hard to make sure that we are taken care of. He is so great at being there for me, and he listens to me when I need an ear. He is very loving and so much fun to be around. He is my favorite person on this earth. He is doing an amazing job with the Oak Hills choir, and I am so proud to be a part of that journey. I am so blessed to be married to him.  Oh, and my new dance team…I am so blessed to get to work with those amazing women!

Your fifteen minutes of fame occurred when? I haven’t had fifteen minutes of fame that I can really remember as that…still waiting ;-).  I have had 30 seconds of fame when Brea Lee came up to me after the 2012 Mosaic service at Oak Hills and asked for my autograph because she really liked my dance piece.

Any Fears?  Ok, so I have an irrational fear of being home alone at night. Every small sound just creeps me out. I have to lock all the doors and windows, set the house alarm and I sleep with the TV on, in the middle of my bed. I can’t stand spiders or sock monkeys they creep me out. I am not scared of heights but scared of falling from them. Haha go figure. Oh then there is the fear of Ted growing his hair out again…it just grows up, and up, and up.

My favorite verse:  1 Corinthians 13 and Hebrews 12

Goal:  I want to get Pastor Kent to be a guest dancer in one of my dance pieces!

 

Ted Hansen

How did you hear about Oak Hills?  On a Saturday night the week after Easter 2011, I suggested we go visit some random church we had never been to before…through some online church index hopping, my wife landed on oakhills.org, and we loved everything we encountered with the church. By July, we were attending regularly and the rest is history.

What was your first experience at Oak Hills like?  Powerful, moving, spiritual, encouraging & Kent was preaching, he was ok. 😉

When/how did you make your decision for Christ?  July 12, 1990…I went to a Christian Camp in California called, “Camp Good News.”

Where were you born and raised?  Born in San Francisco and lived in the area until I was 14, have lived in the Sacramento area ever since.

ashley-ted2Family Info:  My wife, Ashley, and I have been married for 5 years last January.  My mother, Sharon, lives in Salem, OR with my stepdad, Dave.  I have one brother, Ken, who is married to his high school sweetheart, and they have 2 beautiful daughters.  My father, Duane, passed away in 2008 from Lou Gehrig’s disease.

What are you currently reading right now?  My tax return documents and choir music.

If you could be anywhere right now, where would it be?  Anywhere??? J I would be at the Super Bowl victory ceremony accepting the MVP trophy for my performance leading my team, the 49ers, to a win!!!

Tell us something people would be surprised to know about you?

·        During the summers of 2003-2006 I traveled to 10 different countries on a music ministry mission team…I do love to travel.

·        I really like the HISHE (How It Should Have Ended) cartoon videos on youtube…HILIROUS!!!

·        I like to play tennis, both the table and court versions.

·        I am a Movie Box Office Nut/Fanatic/Guru…and I am pretty good at remembering how much a movie from the last 15-20 yrs earned…go ahead & quiz me, but have the answer ready so we know if I’m right. J

What is the thing you are most proud of?  My wife, she is so amazing with her ability to take the bull by the horns and find success through her diligent efforts. She has the wonderful ability to inspire and encourage in just being herself.

Your fifteen minutes of fame occurred when?  Summer of 2004, I was in Hong Kong with the music ministry team and we had just finished a street performance. Then we went out into the crowd to meet people and potential share the gospel, but instead I just had dozens of people come up to me wanting to be in a picture with me…this went on for about 45 minutes. So maybe it was a little longer then fifteen minutes of fame, it was pretty fun.

Any Fears?  My wife trying to get me to be in another one of her dance pieces…I just want to spare the congregation to my horrific display of grace and fluid movement. L

My favorite verse:  Isaiah 44:6-8…love the rock reference in Verse 8.

